Administrative division of Hungary


Hungary is a landlocked country in Central Europe. It borders to Slovakia in the north, Ukraine and Romania in the east, Croatia and Serbia in the south and, to Slovenia and Austria in the west.


For administrative purposes, Hungary is divided into 19 counties plus the capital city of Budapest and about 3100 municipalities.

Local elections take place at both levels. For national elections, the country is divided into 176 single-member districts and 20 multi-member districts.

The multi-member districts correspond to 20 regional self-government units.

List of regions of Hungary

  • Northern Hungary includes the counties Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Heves and Nógrád.
  • Northern Great Plain includes the counties Hajdú-Bihar, Jász-Nagykun-Szolnok, and Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg.
  • Southern Great Plain includes the counties Bács-Kiskun, Békés and Csongrád-Csanád.
  • Central Hungary includes the county of Pest and the capital Budapest.
  • Central Transdanubia includes the counties Komárom-Esztergom, Fejér and Veszprém.
  • Western Transdanubia includes the counties Győr-Moson-Sopron, Vas, Zala.
  • Southern Transdanubia includes the counties Baranya, Somogy and Tolna.