Information was not check the site moderator!

Administrative divisions of Kazakhstan


Kazakhstan is divided into 14 provinces. The provinces are subdivided into districts.

Almaty and Astana cities have the status of State importance and do not relate to any province.


Baikonur city has a special status because it is currently being leased to Russia with Baikonur cosmodrome until 2050.

Each province is headed by an Akim (provincial governor) appointed by the president. 

Municipal Akims are appointed by province Akims.

The Government of Kazakhstan transferred its capital from Almaty to Astana on December 10, 1997.