Information was not check the site moderator!

Administrative divisions of Romania


Romania's administration is relatively centralised and administrative subdivisions are therefore fairly simplified.


According to the Constitution of Romania, its territory is organized administratively into communes, towns and counties:

At the county level: 41 counties, and one city with special status (Bucharest, the national capital)

At the town/commune level: 103 cities and 211 other towns (for urban areas), and 2827 communes (for rural areas).

City (municipiu) status is accorded to larger towns, but it does not give their administrations any greater powers.

Below communal or town level, there are no further formal administrative subdivisions.

However, communes are divided into villages (which have no administration of their own).

There are 13,092 villages in Romania. The only exception is Bucharest, which has six sectors, each with an administration of its own.