Information was not check the site moderator!

Administrative Divisions in the Republic of Ireland


The Republic of Ireland is divided into 30 administrative regions, mostly tied to the 26 constituent counties (county Tipperary is divided in two and county Dublin in four).


Each region has a directly elected Council which is responsible for many of the issues of local government.

The counties themselves were laid out several centuries ago by English settlers, and have survived largely unchanged since then.

Northern Ireland is divided into 26 administrative units, called Districts.

Each District has an elected council which takes care of the local aspects of government.

Historically, Northern Ireland was divided into 6 counties (Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry and Tyrone) but these were abolished as administrative divisions in 1973.

They are generally used by the public, nonetheless, when referring to areas.