Overview of Bulgaria

Overview of Bulgaria
Bulgaria is a country in Southern Europe. Bulgaria borders five other countries: Romania to the north (mostly along the Danube), Serbia and the Republic of Macedonia to the west, and Greece and Turkey to the south. The Black Sea defines the extent of the country to the east.


Officially name: The Republic of Bulgaria

Capital and largest city: Sofia

Official language: Bulgarian

Government: Parliamentary democracy

Total 110,993.6 km2 (104th)
Water (%) 0.3

June 2021 estimate 6,875,040 (106th)
Density 63/km2 (163.2/sq mi)  (120th)

Currency: Lev (BGN)

Time zone
Summer (DST) EEST (UTC+3)

Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .bg

Calling code: +359