Overview of Albania

Overview of Albania
Albania - officially known as the Republic of Albania, is a country in Southeastern Europe. It is bordered by Montenegro to the northwest, Kosovo to the northeast, the Republic of Macedonia to the east, and Greece to the south and southeast. It has a coast on the Adriatic Sea to the west and on the Ionian Sea to the southwest. It is less than 72 km (45 mi) from Italy, across the Strait of Otranto which links the Adriatic Sea to the Ionian Sea.


Albania is a member of the United Nations, NATO, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, the Council of Europe and the World Trade Organization. It is one of the founding members of the Energy Community and the Union for the Mediterranean. It is also an official candidate for membership in the European Union.

Capital: Tirana

Largest city: Tirana

Official language: Albanian

Government: Parliamentary republic


Total 28,748 km2 (143th)
Water (%) 4.7


2017 estimate: 2,876,591
Density 98/km2

Currency: Lek (ALL)

Time zone

Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2)

Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .al

Calling code: 355