Information was not check the site moderator!

Governorates of Jordan


The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan is divided into 12 governorates (muhafazah) by the Administrative Divisions system of the Ministry of Interior. In 1994 four governorates were created, Jerash, Ajloun, Madaba, and Aqaba Governorates. The two former ones were split from Irbid Governorate, Madaba Governorate was split from the Capital Governorate, and Aqaba from Ma'an Governorate.


Geographically, the governorates of Jordan are located in one of three regions, the Northern region, the central, and the southern region.

These three geographical regions are not distributed by area or populations, but rather by geographical connectivity and distance among the population centers.

The southern region is separated from the central region by the Mountains of Moab in Kerak Governorate.

The population centers of the central and northern regions are separated geographically by the mountains of Jerash Governorate.

Socially, the population centers of Amman, Salt, Zarqa and Madaba form together one large metropolitan area in which business interactions in these cities are under the influence of Amman.

While the cities of Jerash, Ajloun, and Mafraq are mostly under the influence of the city of Irbid.