Information was not check the site moderator!

Political system of Kyrgyzstan


The Kyrgyz Republic declared independence on 31 August 1991. Kyrgyzstan is an independent, secular, democratic and lawful state.


Until 2010 the form of government was presidential but after the adoption of the Constitution in 27 June 2010 most of the authority was taken by the Parliament and the Prime Minister, thus, Kyrgyzstan became a parliamentary republic.

The President is elected for six years without the right for the second term. Under the new Constitution, the same person may not be elected as President twice. The acting President of Kyrgyzstan is Almazbek Atambaev.


Legislative power is exercised by Parliament - Jogorku Kengesh. The Parliament of the Republic Jogorku Kengesh is unicameral and consists of 120 deputies elected for five years, according to party lists.

The parliament in Kyrgyzstan has priority in making important state decisions. The new parliament of Kyrgyzstan was elected on 10 October 2010.

Prime Minister is the head of government, appointed by the Parliament on the proposal of the parliamentary fraction of the majority (of deputies from political parties that received over 50% of the seats).


The judicial system of Kyrgyz Republic is established by the Constitution and laws, consists of the Supreme Court and local courts.

Judicial power is exercised through constitutional, civil, criminal, administrative and other forms of legal proceedings.

The Constitutional Chamber is included in the structure of the Supreme Court. The law allows establishment of specialized courts. The establishment of emergency courts is prohibited.

Executive power

Executive power in the Republic of Kyrgyzstan is exercised by the government, subordinate ministries, state committees, administrative departments and local state administration.

Government is the supreme executive authority of Kyrgyzstan. The government is headed by the Prime Minister.

The government consists of the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Ministers, ministers and chairmen of state government committees. The government structure includes ministries and state committees.