Overview of Afghanistan


The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan is a landlocked and mountainous country in south-central Asia. It is bordered by Pakistan in the south and east, Iran in the west, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan in the north, and China in the far northeast.


Officially name: The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

Capital: Kabul

Largest city: Kabul

Official language: Pashto and Dari (Persian) 

Government: Islamic republic

Total 647,500 km2 (41st)
Water (%) negligible

2019 estimate 32,225,560 (44nd)
Density 46/km2 (174th)
119.1/sq mi

Currency: Afghani (AFN)

Time zone
D† (UTC+4:30)

Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .af

Calling code: +93