Information was not check the site moderator!

Administrative Division of Slovakia


In the past, from 13the century till 20th century Slovakia was divided into counties (župy, stolice).


In 1960 the counties were formed into regions –Western Slovak Region, Central Slovak Region and Eastern Slovak Region.

In 1996, Slovakia was divided into 8 regions (Higher Territorial Units) with 79 districts.

The formation was based on social-economic situation. There are 2922 municipalities in Slovakia including all Bratislava municipalities and Košice municipalities as individual entities.

In the past, the regions of Slovakia were named according to ethnographic or natural specifications.

Thus regions as Gemer, Šariš, Spiš, Zemplín, Tekov, Orava, Kysuce, Ponitrie, Liptov, Považie, Záhorie etc were formed. Nowadays, every region has its own specific natural, human, traditional or folklore characteristics.

Administrative dividion of Slovakia is formed by 8 regions:

Bratislava Region

Trnava Region

Trenčín Region

Nitra Region

Žilina Region

Banská Bystrica

Prešov Region

Košice Region

Slovak regions have been formed around the biggest cities in Slovakia. There are specific differences between Slovak regions in population, density and age.

For instance, Banská Bystrica Region is the largest region in Slovakia and Bratislava Region is the smallest region with the highest density.

Košice Region has the highest population and Trnava Regions has the smallest population.

Levice is the largest district and Banská Štiavnica is the smallest district of Slovakia.