Information was not check the site moderator!

Administrative Divisions of Liechtenstein


Liechtenstein is the smallest yet the richest (by measure of GDP per capita) German-speaking country in the world and the only country to lie entirely within the Alps.


It is known as a principality as it is a constitutional monarchy headed by a prince.

The principality of Liechtenstein is divided into eleven municipalities (Gemeinden – singular Gemeinde), most consisting of only a single town.

Five of the Gemeinden fall within the electoral district Unterland (lower country), the remainder are within Oberland (upper country).

Much of its terrain is mountainous, making it a winter sports destination. Many cultivated fields and small farms characterize its landscape both in the south (Oberland, upper land) and in the north (Unterland, lower land).

The country has a strong financial sector located in the capital, Vaduz, and has been identified as a tax haven.

It is a member of the European Free Trade Association and part of the European Economic Area, the Schengen Area but not of the European Union.