Information was not check the site moderator!

Political Structure Of Switzerland


The government of Switzerland is a federal republic and is very likely the closest state in the world to a direct democracy. The central government of can be divided into three branches: executive branch, legislative branch, and judicial branch.


In the executive branch the Swiss parliament and government in Bern are known as the Curia Confoederationis Helveticae.

The cabinet is a 7-member executive council known as the Swiss Federal Council. The Council heads the executive branch and is elected by the Federal Assembly for a four-year term.

The President and Vice President's roles of the Confederation are largely ceremonial and are elected by the Federal Assembly from among the members of the Federal Council for one-year terms.

The legislative branch of Switzerland is a bicameral parliament made up of a Council of States and the National Council whose members are elected to four-year terms.

The two chambers together are referred to as the Federal Assembly.

Switzerland's judicial branch is a Federal Supreme Court, with judges elected for six-year terms by the Federal Assembly.

Prominent Figures President: Moritz Leuenberger

Vice President: Micheline Calmy-Rey

Chairman, Swiss National Bank: Jean-Pierre Roth