Information was not check the site moderator!

Overview of Switzerland


Switzerland is a federal republic consisting of 26 cantons, with Bern as the seat of the federal authorities. The country is situated in Western Europe where it is bordered by Germany to the north, France to the west, Italy to the south, and Austria and Liechtenstein to the east.


Officially name: Swiss Confederation

Capital: Bern

Largest city: Zurich

Official language: German, French, Italian, Romansh

Government: Federal republic, with parliamentary system and direct democracy


Total 41,285 km2 (133rd)
Water (%) 4.2


2009 estimate 7,785,600 (94th)
Density 188/km2 (65th)
477.4/sq mi

Currency: Swiss franc (CHF)

Time zone
Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2)

Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .ch

Calling code: +41