Iceland travel advice

Iceland travel advice
Iceland is volcanically active. Eyjafjallajokull volcano began erupting on 21 March 2010. A further eruption has begun west of Fimmvörduhals, under the ice-cap, in Eyjafallajökull. The road between Hella and Skógar has been closed by the Hvolsvöllur police. The region experienced major flooding, and traffic is banned in the areas of Markarfljót and Thorvaldseyri, south of Eyjafjallajökull.


Most visits to Iceland are trouble-free but you should be aware of the global risk of indiscriminate international terrorist attacks, which could be against civilian targets, including places frequented by foreigners.

The British Embassy has advised that there has been no change to the exchange regulations for foreign travellers. Icelandic krona are available through banks and cash machines in Iceland.

This advice is based on information provided by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office in the UK. It is correct at time of publishing. As the situation can change rapidly, visitors are advised to contact the following organisations for the latest travel advice:

British Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Tel: 0845 850 2829.

US Department of State

Embassies and tourist offices

Embassy of Iceland in the UK

2A Hans Street, London SW1X 0JE, UK
Tel: (020) 7259 3999.
Opening hours: Mon-Fri 0930-1600.
There is currently no Icelandic tourist board in the UK, but the embassy can deal with all enquiries.

Embassy of Iceland in the USA

1156 15th Street, NW, Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005, USA
Tel: (202) 265 6653.

Icelandic Tourist Board in the USA

c/o The Scandinavian Tourist Board, 655 Third Avenue, New York, NY 10017, USA
Tel: (212) 885 9700. or

Icelandic Tourist Board

Laekjargata 3, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
Tel: 535 5500. or


Icelandic consulates no longer issue visas.

Danish, Norwegian and Swedish embassies issue Icelandic visas.

For information on where to get your visa, visit or contact the Royal Danish Embassy directly (tel: 09065 540 755 for appointments. For further details see Denmark section).