Information was not check the site moderator!

Administrative Division of Czech Republic


The Czech Republic is a landlocked country in Central Europe. It borders on Germany in the west, Austria in the south, Slovakia in the east and Poland in the north. The territory of the Czech Republic consists of three historical regions: Bohemia (located in the west), Moravia (in the east), and Silesia (in the north-east).


For administrative purposes, the Czech Republic has since 2000 been divided into 14 self-governing territorial regions (13 regions and the capital city of Prague).

Regional self-government is provided by directly elected assemblies, which influence the regional development in the fields of education, health care, environment, and regional planning.

The regions are further subdivided into 73 districts, but district authorities were abolished in 2003.

Finally, the country is divided into 205 municipalities with directly elected bodies.