Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia

Tbilisi is the capital and the largest city of Georgia, lying on the banks of the Mt'k'vari (Kura) River.


Climate of Georgia

The climate of Georgia is extremely diverse, considering the nation's small size.

There are two main climatic zones, roughly separating Eastern and Western parts of the country. The Greater Caucasus Mountain Range plays an important role in moderating Georgia's climate and protects the nation from the penetration of colder air masses from the north. The Lesser Caucasus Mountains partially protect the region from the influence of dry and hot air masses from the south as well.


Politics of Georgia

The Politics of Georgia is based on a presidential representative democratic republic (semi-presidential system), with a multi-party system, and the President as the head of state and the Prime Minister as the head of the Georgian Government.