Information was not check the site moderator!

Administrative divisions of Kenya


Kenya is divided into 47 semi-autonomous counties that are headed by governors who were elected in the first general election under the new constitution in March 2013.


These 47 counties now form the first-order divisions of the country. Under the old constitution, Kenya comprised eight provinces each headed by a Provincial Commissioner (centrally appointed by the president). The provinces (mkoa singular, mikoa plural in Swahili) were subdivided into districts (wilaya).

Constituencies are an electoral subdivision, with each county comprising a whole number of constituencies. An Interim Boundaries commission was formed in year 2010 to review the constituencies and in its report, it recommended creation of an additional 80 constituencies. Previous to the 2013 elections, there were 210 constituencies in Kenya.

Before the new constitution of Kenya that came into force in 2013, Kenya was divided into eight provinces (see map). The provinces were subdivided into 46 districts (excluding Nairobi) which were further subdivided into 262 divisions. The divisions were subdivided into 2,427 locations and then 6,612 sublocations. A province was administered by a Provincial Commissioner (PC).

Kenyan local authorities mostly do not follow common boundaries with divisions. They are classified as City, Municipality, Town or County councils.

A third discrete type of classification are electoral constituencies. They are electoral areas without administrative functions, and are further subdivided into wards.

Since the new constitution came into force in 2013, Kenya's provinces have been eliminated and replaced by a system of counties.

Former Provinces

5.North Eastern
7.Rift Valley