French Guiana


Currency of French Guiana

The official currency is the Euro. French Guiana is the most expensive among all South American countries. Traveling to French Guiana’s interiors is expensive, so plan your trip. The budget traveler would find it hard to get by with less than US$55 a day.


The political structure of French Guiana

French Guiana, as part of France, forms part of the European Union - the largest landmass for an area outside of Europe (since Greenland left the European Community in 1985), with one of the longest EU external boundaries. It is one of only three European Union territories outside Europe that is not an island (the others being the Spanish Autonomous Cities in Africa, Ceuta and Melilla).


Administrative divisions of French Guiana

French Guiana is divided into 2 arrondissements, 19 cantons (not shown here), and 22 communes: