Information was not check the site moderator!

Politics of Zambia


The politics of Zambia takes place in a framework of a presidential representative democratic republic, whereby the President of Zambia is head of state, head of government and leader of a multi-party system.


Executive power is exercised by the government, while legislative power is vested in both the government and parliament. Formerly Northern Rhodesia, Zambia became a republic immediately upon attaining independence in October 1964.

Executive branch

The executive branch of Zambian government is filled by an elected president. Presidents serve terms of five years and are limited to two terms. The Zambian vice-president is appointed by the president.

The presidency is currently being filled by acting President Guy Scott, who replaces Michael Sata, who suddenly died in office on 28 October 2014.Scott was chosen by Sata as the country's Vice-President after the latter won the 2011 election against Rupiah Banda who was elected in a presidential by-election on 30 October 2008 following the death of Levy Mwanawasa in 2008.

Guy Scott is the first white president of an African country since Frederik Willem de Klerk of South Africa in 1994. Zambian law stipulates that a new presidential election must be held within 90 days, at the latest on 26 January 2015. It is unclear whether acting President Scott will run for the office. On 25 February Edgar C. Lungu was sworn in as the President sixth elected president, an office which he still holds

Legislative branch

The unicameral National Assembly of Zambia is the country's legislative body. The current National Assembly, formed following elections held on 28 September 2006, has a total of 158 members. 150 members are directly elected in single-member constituencies using the simple majority (or First-past-the-post) system. The remaining 8 seats are filled through presidential appointment. All members serve five-year terms.

Judicial branch

The Supreme Court is the highest court and the court of appeal; below it are the high court, magistrate's court, and local courts.