Information was not check the site moderator!

Administrative divisions of Mauritania


The government bureaucracy is composed of traditional ministries, special agencies, and parastatal companies. The Ministry of Interior spearheads a system of regional governors and prefects modeled on the French system of local administration. Under this system, Mauritania is divided into 15 regions (wilaya or régions).


Control is tightly concentrated in the executive branch of the central government, but a series of national and municipal elections since 1992 have produced limited decentralization. These regions are subdivided into 44 departments (moughataa). 

Regions of Mauritania

1.Adrar(Capital:Ata, Area:235,000 km2 (91,000 sq mi), Population:62,658)
2.Assaba(Capital:Kiffa, Area:36,600 km2 (14,100 sq mi), Population:325,897)
3.Brakna(Capital:Aleg, Area:33,000 km2 (13,000 sq mi), Population:312,277)
4.Dakhlet Nouadhibou(Capital:Nouadhibou, Area:23,090 km2 (8,920 sq mi), Population:123,779)
5.Gorgol(Capital:Kaédi, Area:13,600 km2 (5,300 sq mi), Population:335,917)
6.Guidimaka(Capital:Sélibab, Area:10,300 km2 (4,000 sq mi), Population:267,029)
7.Hodh Ech Chargui(Capital:Néma, Area:182,700 km2 (70,500 sq mi), Population:430,668)
8.Hodh El Gharbi(Capital:Ayoun el Atrous, Area:53,400 km2 (20,600 sq mi), Population:294,109)
9.Inchiri(Capital:Akjoujt, Area:46,800 km2 (18,100 sq mi), Population:19,639)
10.Nouakchott-Nord(Capital:Dar-Naim, Area:306 km2 (118 sq mi), Population:366,912)
10.Nouakchott-Ouest(Capital:Tevragh-Zeina, Area:146 km2 (56 sq mi), Population:165,814)
10.Nouakchott-Sud(Capital:Arafat, Area:252 km2 (97 sq mi), Population:425,673)
11.Tagant(Capital:Tidjikja, Area:98,340 km2 (37,970 sq mi), Population:80,962)
12.Tiris Zemmour(Capital:Zouérat, Area:252,900 km2 (97,600 sq mi), Population:53,261)
13.Trarza(Capital:Rosso, Area:67,800 km2 (26,200 sq mi), Population:272,773)