Information was not check the site moderator!

Provinces of the Democratic Republic of the Congo


In July 1960, there were six provinces in the Belgian Congo: Leopoldville Province, Equateur Province, Province Orientale, Kivu Province, Katanga Province, and Kasai Province. Kivu Province existed from 1933 to 1962 (under the name Province de Costermansville until 1947, from the name of its capital) and from 1966 to 1988.


There are currently ten provinces and one city-province in the Democratic Republic of the Congo:

1.Bandundu(Capital:Bandundu, Population:5,514,787)
2.Bas-Congo(Capital:Matadi, Population:4,113,150)
3.Équateur(Capital:Mbandaka, Population:8,560,067)
4.Kasai-Occidental(Capital:Kananga, Population:5,466,777)
5.Kasai-Oriental(Capital:Mbuji-Mayi, Population:6,222,559)
6.Katanga(Capital:Lubumbashi, Population:8,143,487)
7.Kinshasa (city-province)(Capital:Kinshasa, Population:9,046,000)
8.Maniema(Capital:Kindu, Population:2,536,550)
9.Nord-Kivu(Capital:Goma, Population:4,022,212)
10.Orientale(Capital:Kisangani, Population:11,984,381)
11.Sud-Kivu(Capital:Bukavu, Population:3,617,830)