Information was not check the site moderator!

Currency of Cameroon


CFA (Communauté Financière Africaine) Franc (XAF; symbol CFA) = 100 centimes. Notes are in denominations of CFA10,000, 5,000, 2,000, 1,000 and 500. Coins are in denominations of CFA250, 100, 50, 25, 10, 5, 2 and 1.


Cameroon, together with CAR, Chad, Congo-Brazzaville, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon, belongs to an economic and monetary community sharing a common currency, the Banque des États de l'Afrique Centrale (Bank of Central African States) CFA Franc, which is pegged to the Euro. 

The CFA Franc issued by the Banque des États de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (Bank of West African States), used in the ECOWAS countries further west, has the same value but is not legal tender in Cameroon.

Credit cards: 

Major credit cards are accepted on a very limited basis (some airline offices and hotels will take them). Cards cannot be used in banks to obtain cash advances. ATMs are rare.


ATMs are rare.

Travellers cheques: 

To avoid additional exchange rate charges, travellers are advised to take traveller's cheques in Euros, although it is possible to exchange Sterling traveller's cheques. Commission rates tend to be high.

Banking hours: 

Mon-Fri 0730-1530 or from 0800-1700 at certain branches.