Overview of Cameroon

Overview of Cameroon
Cameroon is a country of central and western Africa. It is bordered by Nigeria to the west; Chad to the northeast; the Central African Republic to the east; and Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and the Republic of the Congo to the south. Cameroon's coastline lies on the Bight of Bonny, part of the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean.


Officially name: The Republic of Cameroon

Capital: Yaoundé

Largest city: Douala

Official language: French and English

Government: Republic


Total 475,442 km2 (53rd)
Water (%) 1.3


  • 2016 estimate 23,439,189 (56th)
  • 2005 census 17,463,836
  • Density 39.7/km2 (102.8/sq mi) (167th)

Currency: Central African CFA franc (XAF)

Time zone
Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+1)

Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .cm

Calling code: 237