Information was not check the site moderator!

Political Structure


Gibraltar is a British Dependent Territory and is a Crown Colony with internal self-government.

Gibraltar has a unicameral House of Assembly which consists of 15 elected members by popular vote, and 3 members appointed by the Governor serve under contract of employment with the Gibraltar Government.


These 3 members are: the Speaker of the House Of Assembly, the Attorney General and the Financial, and Development Secretary.

The Speaker of the House is appointed by the Governor after consultation with the Chief Minister and the Leader of the Opposition.

There are 3 political parties in Gibraltar - the Gibraltar Liberal Party (GLP), the Gibraltar Social Democrats (GSD) and the Gibraltar Socialist Labour Party (GSLP).

The voting system allows for each elector to have a maximum of 8 votes, there are usually 8 elected members on the Government side and 7 from the Opposition.

The term of office is four years for both elected and appointed members, and there is no limitation on the number of terms a member may serve.