Administrative divisions of Tonga

The island country of Tonga can be divided into 5 divisions and 23 districts.


Geography of Tonga

Located in Oceania, Tonga is an archipelago in the South Pacific Ocean, directly south of Western Samoa and about two-thirds of the way from Hawaii to New Zealand. Its 176 islands, 36 of them inhabited, are divided into three main groups – Vava'u, Ha'apai, and Tongatapu – and cover an 800-kilometre (500-mile)-long north-south line.


Tonga things to see and do

The island of 'Eua, a 10-minute flight away from Tongatapu, has a blend of modern comfort (the island has one hotel and a motel) and the traditional South Sea island lifestyle. Many species of exotic bird live on the island.