Information was not check the site moderator!

Overview of Nauru


Nauru, officially the Republic of Nauru and formerly known as Pleasant Island, is an island nation in Micronesia in the South Pacific. Its nearest neighbour is Banaba Island in Kiribati, 300 km to the east. Nauru is the world's smallest island nation, covering just 21 square kilometres (8.1 sq mi).


Capital: Yaren (de facto)

Official languages: English, Nauruan

Demonym: Nauruan

- President Marcus Stephen

- from the Australian, New Zealand, and British-administered U.N. trusteeship. 31 January 1968

- Total 21 km2 (239th)
- Water (%) 0.57

- July 2010 estimate 9,267
- December 2006 census 9,275
- Density 441/km2 (23rd)

Currency: Usually the Australian dollar (AUD)

Time zone: (UTC+12)

Drives on the left

ISO 3166 code NR

Internet TLD .nr

Calling code 674