Information was not check the site moderator!

Yaren is the de facto capital of Nauru


Yaren, in earlier times Makwa/Moqua, is a district and constituency of the Pacific nation of Nauru. It is the de facto capital of Nauru.


Yaren is located in the south of the island. Its area is 1.5 km2 (0.58 sq mi), and its population was 1,100 in 2003. To the north of Yaren is Buada, to the east is Meneng and to the west is Boe.

The following government offices are located in this district:

the Parliament House
the earth station
the administration offices
the police station
the National Stadium
the Australian High Commission and Taiwanese Embassy

the Nauru International Airport, air terminal, and head office of Nauru Airlines
Yaren (and sometimes Aiwo) is usually listed as the capital of Nauru though this is incorrect; the republic does not have cities or an official capital. Yaren is accepted by the United Nations as the "main district".

Yaren also constitutes a political constituency. It returns two members to the Parliament of Nauru.