Information was not check the site moderator!

Political Structure of Bangladesh


Bangladesh is a parliamentary democracy with a unicameral legislature.


Elections hold under a caretaker government led and formed independently by the immediate past Chief Justice of the time.

The People’s Republic of Bangladesh is a unitary, sovereign republic comprising three basic organs the executive, the legislature, and the judiciary.

The President is the Head of State and is elected by the members of Parliament.

Present BNP led coalition government took the sit after gaining a two-third majority in the last 1st October, 2001 General election.

Bangladesh Awami League, the immediate past ruling party is now the main opposition party in the parliament.

The head of government is Prime Minister. The executive power of the Republic is exercised by or on the advice of the Prime Minister who commands the support of the majority members of Parliament.

The cabinet is collectively accountable to the Parliament.

The National Assembly or The Jatiya Sangsad has 300 members elected for a five year term in single-seat constituencies. There are 30 reserved seats for women in the parliament.