Information was not check the site moderator!

Overview of the Samoa Islands


Samoa, officially the Independent State of Samoa, formerly known as Western Samoa and German Samoa, is a country encompassing the western part of the Samoan Islands in the South Pacific Ocean. It became independent from New Zealand in 1962. The two main islands of Samoa are Upolu and one of the biggest islands in Polynesia, Savai'i. The capital city, Apia, and Faleolo International Airport are situated on the island of Upolu.


Capital and largest city: Apia

Official languages: Samoan, English

Demonym: Samoan

Government: Parliamentary republic

Independence from New Zealand
- Date 1 January 1962

- Total 2,831 km2 (174th)
- Water (%) 0.3%

- 2009 estimate 179,000 (166th)
- 2006 census 179,186
- Density 63.2/km[sup]2[/sup] (134th)

Tala (WST)

Time zone
- (UTC-11)
- Summer (DST) (UTC-10)

Drives on the left

ISO 3166 code WS

Internet TLD .ws

Calling code 685