Samoa Islands


Districts of Samoa

Samoa is made up of eleven itūmālō (political districts). These are the traditional eleven districts that were established well before European arrival. Each district has its own constitutional foundation (faavae) based on the traditional order of title precedence found in each district's faalupega (traditional salutations).


Samoan Festivals

Samoan festivals are of many types. There are festivals in Samoathat are traditional and cultural and again, Samoan people celebrate many of the Christian festivals as well being a Christian country. In Samoathere are holidays on several Christian religious days for religious observation. Many festivals are related to these religious observations.


Climate of Samoa

The climate is equatorial/monsoonal, with an average annual temperature of 26.5 °C (79.7 °F), and a rainy season from November to April. Savai'i is the largest of the Samoan islands and the sixth largest Polynesian island after New Zealand's North, South and Stewart Islands and the Hawaiian islands of Hawaiʻi and Maui. The population of Savai'i is 42,000 people.