Information was not check the site moderator!

Overview of Papua - New Guinea


Officially name: The Independent State of Papua New Guinea

Capital: Port Moresby

Largest city: Port Moresby

Official language: English, Tok Pisin, Hiri Motu

Government: Federal Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy


Papua New Guinea is a country in Oceania, occupying the eastern half of the island of New Guinea and numerous offshore islands (the western portion of the island is a part of the Indonesian provinces of Papua and West Papua). It is located in the southwestern Pacific Ocean, in a region defined since the early 19th century as Melanesia.


Total 462,840 km2 (54th)
Water (%) 2


2009 estimate 6,732,000 (100th)
Density 14.5/km2 (201st)
37.7/sq mi

Currency: Papua New Guinean kina (PGK)

Time zone

Summer (DST) not observed (as of 2005) (UTC+10)

Drives on the left

Internet TLD: .pg

Calling code: +675