Papua New Guinea


Overview of Papua - New Guinea

Officially name: The Independent State of Papua New Guinea

Capital: Port Moresby

Largest city: Port Moresby

Official language: English, Tok Pisin, Hiri Motu

Government: Federal Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy


Administrative divisions of Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea is divided into four regions, which are not the primary administrative divisions but are quite significant in many aspects of government, commercial, sporting and other activities.


Population of Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea is one of the most heterogeneous nations in the world.There are hundreds of ethnic groups indigenous to Papua New Guinea, the majority being from the group known as Papuans, whose ancestors arrived in the New Guinea region tens of thousands of years ago. The other indigenous peoples are Austronesians, their ancestors having arrived in the region less than four thousand years ago.