Information was not check the site moderator!

Districts of Mauritius


The Districts of the Republic of Mauritius are the second-order administrative divisions after the Outer islands of the country. Mauritius is divided into nine districts which consist of 2 cities, 4 towns and 130 villages, the capital is Port Louis.


The Plaines Wilhems District consist mainly of four towns that is Beau-Bassin Rose-Hill, Curepipe, Quatre Bornes and Vacoas-Phoenix. The other districts consist of different villages, some of them are further divided into different suburbs. As at 31 December 2012, the urban population stood at 536,086 3 and rural 718,925.

The island of Rodrigues used to be the tenth district of Mauritius, it gained autonomous status in 2002, its capital is Port Mathurin. The capital of Agaléga islands is Vingt Cinq.

Grand Port(Area:260.3km2,Population:116,211)
Moka(Area:230.5 km2,Population:81,820)
Plaines Wilhems(Area:203.3km2,Population:387,372)
Port Louis(Area:42.7km2,Population:127,454)
Rivière du Rempart(Area:147.6km2,Population:110,235)
Rivière Noire(Area:259km2,Population:79,247)