Information was not check the site moderator!

Politics of the Comoros


Politics of the Union of the Comoros takes place in a framework of a federal presidential republic, whereby the President of the Comoros is both head of state and head of government, and of a multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government. Federal legislative power is vested in both the government and parliament.


As of 2008, Comoros and Mauritania are considered by US-based organization Freedom House as the only real “electoral democracies” of the Arab World.

Executive branch

The federal presidency is rotated between the islands' presidents. The Union of Comoros abolished the position of Prime Minister.

Legislative branch

The Assembly of the Union has 33 seats, 18 elected in single seat constituencies and 15 representatives of the regional assemblies.

Judicial branch

The Supreme Court or Cour Supreme, has two members appointed by the president, two members elected by the Federal Assembly, one by the Council of each island, and former presidents of the republic.