Information was not check the site moderator!

Administrative divisions of Cabo Verde


The territory of Cabo Verde is divided into 22 concelhos (municipalities), and subdivided into 32 freguesias (equivalent to civil parish).


In Portuguese language usage, there are two words to distinguish the territory and the administrative organ. Administratively, right below the government, there are the municípios (municipalities), who administrate the concelhos, and below them, the juntas de freguesia who administrate the freguesias (civil parishes). Therefore, the concelhos are the first-level administrative subdivision in Cabo Verde.

The islands are traditionally divided in two geographic regions (with no administrative meaning):

Barlavento Islands (windward), the six northern islands and
Sotavento Islands (leeward), the four southern ones.