Sao Tome and Principe


Religion in São Tomé and Príncipe

Almost all residents belong to the Roman Catholic, Evangelical Protestant, or Seventh-day Adventist churches, which in turn retain close ties with churches in Portugal. There is a small but growing Muslim population.


Overview of Sao Tome and Principe

Officially name: Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe

Capital: São Tomé

Largest city: São Tomé

Official language: Portuguese

Government: Democratic semi-presidential Republic


Administrative divisions of São Tomé and Príncipe

São Tomé and Príncipe is divided into 2 provinces: Príncipe and São Tomé. The provinces are further divided into seven districts, six on São Tomé and one on Príncipe (with Príncipe having self-government since 29 April 1995).