Overview of Aruba

Overview of Aruba
Aruba is a 33 km-long island of the Lesser Antilles in the southern Caribbean Sea, located 27 km north of the coast of Venezuela.


Autonomy from Netherlands Antilles in 1 January 1986

Capital and largest city: Oranjestad

Official languages: Dutch, Papiamento

Government: Constitutional monarchy
- Monarch Queen Beatrix
- Governor Fredis Refunjol
- Prime Minister Mike Eman


  • Total 180 km2
  • Water (%) negligible


  • 2016 estimate 104,822 (197th)
  • Density 612/km2 (1,585.1/sq mi) (22nd)

Currency: Aruban florin (AWG)

Time zone: AST (UTC-04)

Drives on the right

ISO 3166 code: AW

Internet TLD: .aw

Calling code: 297