Information was not check the site moderator!

Overview of Cook Islands


Officially name: The Cook Islands


Capital: Avarua

Largest city: Avarua

Official language: English Cook Islands Māori

Government: Constitutional monarchy

The Cook Islands is
a self-governing parliamentary democracy in free association with New Zealand. The fifteen small islands in this South Pacific Oceancountry have a total land area of 240 square kilometres (92.7 sq mi), but the Cook Islands Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) covers 1,800,000 square kilometres (690,000 sq mi) of ocean.


Total 240 km2 (206th)


2006 estimate 19,569
Density 76/km2 (124th)
197/sq mi

Currency: New Zealand dollar (Cook Islands dollar also used) (NZD)

Time zone


Drives on the left

Internet TLD: .ck

Calling code: 682