Information was not check the site moderator!

Administrative divisions of Iraq


The main subdivision in Iraq is the 18 muhafazah, also known as governorates or provinces. Before 1976 they were called liwas, or banner).


Under the constitution adopted in 2005, one or more provinces may elect to form a Region, which has the right to a share of oil revenues.

Modern Iraq mostly covers the Ottoman Empire vilayets (provinces) of Baghdad, Basra and Mosul and part of Zor and Arabia.

The provinces are divided into districts.