Information was not check the site moderator!

Overview of Guinea


Officially name: The Republic of Guinea

Capital: Conakry

Largest city: Conakry

Official language: French

Government: Presidential republic


Guinea is a country in West Africa. It is today sometimes called Guinea-Conakry to distinguish it from its neighbour Guinea-Bissau. It forms a crescent by curving from its western border on the Atlantic Ocean toward the east and the south. Its northern border is shared with Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, and Mali, the southern one with Sierra Leone, Liberia, and Côte d'Ivoire. The Niger River arises in Guinea and runs eastward.


Total 245,857 km2 (78th)
Water (%) negligible


2009 estimate 10,057,975 (81st)
Density 40.9/km2
106.1/sq mi

Currency: Guinean franc (GNF)

Time zone


Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .gn

Calling code: 224