Information was not check the site moderator!

Political system:Turks and Caicos


The Turks and Caicos Islands are a British Overseas Territory. As a British territory, its sovereign is Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom, represented by a governor appointed by the monarch, on the advice of the Foreign Office. The United Nations Special Committee on Decolonization includes the territory on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories.


With the election of the territory's first Chief Minister, J.A.G.S. McCartney, the islands adopted a constitution on 30 August 1976, which is Constitution Day, the national holiday.


The judicial branch of government is headed by a Supreme Court; appeals are heard by the court of appeals and final appeals by the United Kingdom's Judicial Committee of the Privy Council. There are three justices of the Supreme Court. Chief Justice Edwin Goldsbrough has stated his intention to leave the post in March 2014.

 The other justices are Justice Margaret Ramsay-Hale (who has acted as Chief Justice on occasions when Goldsbrough was out of the country) and Justice Joan Joyner.[44] The islands also have a Court of Appeal with a president and at least two justices of appeal.

Magistrates' Courts are the lower courts and appeals from Magistrates' Courts are sent to the Supreme Court.