Overview of Turkey

Overview of Turkey
Turkey is bordered by eight countries: Bulgaria to the northwest; Greece to the west; Georgia to the northeast; Armenia, Azerbaijan (the exclave of Nakhchivan) and Iran to the east; and Iraq and Syria to the southeast. The Mediterranean Sea and Cyprus are to the south; the Aegean Sea to the west; and the Black Sea is to the north. The Sea of Marmara, the Bosphorus and the Dardanelles (which together form the Turkish Straits) demarcate the boundary between Eastern Thrace and Anatolia; they also separate Europe and Asia. Turkey's location at the crossroads of Europe and Asia makes it a country of significant geostrategic importance.


Officially name: The Republic of Turkey

Capital: Ankara

Largest city: Istanbul

Official language: Turkish

Government: Parliamentary republic


Total 783,356 km2 (302,455 sq mi)  (36st)
Water (%) 1.3


2018 estimate 82,003,882 (19th)
Density 105km2 (271.9/sq mi) (107th)

Currency: Turkish lira (TRY)

Time zone

Summer (DST) EEST (UTC+3)

Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .tr

Calling code: 90