Administrative divisions of Ghana

The administrative divisions of the Republic of Ghana consist of four geographic terrestrial plains; ten regions divided into six metropolitan assemblies; and 55 municipal assemblies subdivided into a total of 212 districts, each with its own district assembly. Various types of council then exist beyond districts, including 58 town or area councils; 108 zonal councils; and 626 area councils. Finally, there are sixteen-thousand unit committees.


Rivers and Lakes of Ghana

Ghana is drained by a large number of streams and rivers. In addition, there are a number of coastal lagoons, the huge man-made Lake Volta, and Lake Bosumtwi, southeast of Kumasi and which has no outlet to the sea.


Overview of Ghana

Officially name: Republic of Ghana

Capital: Accra

Largest city: Accra

Official language: English

Government: Constitutional presidential republic