Overview of Ethiopia

Overview of Ethiopia
Ethiopia is a landlocked country located in the Horn of Africa, Ethiopia is bordered by Eritrea to the north, Sudan to the west, Djibouti and Somalia to the east, and Kenya to the south. It is also the most populous landlocked country in the world.


Officially name: Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

Capital: Addis Ababa

Largest city: Addis Ababa

Official language: Amharic

Government: Federal parliamentary republic


  • Total 1,104,300 km2 (27th)
  • Water (%) 0.7


  • 2016 estimate 102,403,196 (12th)
  • 2007 census 73,750,932
  • Density 92.7/km2 (240.1/sq mi) (123rd)

Currency: Birr (ETB)

Time zone
Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+3)

Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .et

Calling code: 251