Overview of Guatemala


Guatemala officially the Republic of Guatemala (Spanish: República de Guatemala), is a country in Central America bordered by Mexico to the north and west, Belize and the Caribbean to the northeast, Honduras to the east, El Salvador to the southeast and the Pacific Ocean to the south. With an estimated population of around 16.6 million, it is the most populated country in Central America. Guatemala is a representative democracy; its capital and largest city is Nueva Guatemala de la Asunción, also known as Guatemala City.


Capital and largest city: Guatemala City

Official languages: Spanish, 22 indigenous languages

Demonym Guatemalan

Government: Unitary presidential republic
- President Alejandro Giammattei (2019)
- Vice President Jafeth Cabrera (2019)

Independence from Spain and Mexico
- Declared (independence from Spain) 15 September 1821
- Recognized by Spain 25 July 1850
- from the First Mexican Empire July 1, 1823

- Total 108,890 km2 (106th)
- Water (%) 0.4

- July 2018 estimate 17,263,239 (67th)
- Density 129/km2 (85th)

Currency: Quetzal (GTQ)

Time zone: Central Time (UTC-6)

Drives on the right

ISO 3166 code: GT

Internet TLD: .gt

Calling code: +502