Overview of Guernsey

Overview of  Guernsey
Guernsey is an island in the English Channel off the coast of Normandy. It lies roughly north of Saint-Malo and to the west of Jersey and the Cotentin Peninsula. With several smaller nearby islands, it forms a jurisdiction within the Bailiwick of Guernsey, a British Crown dependency. The jurisdiction is made up of ten parishes on the island of Guernsey, three other inhabited islands (Herm, Jethou and Lihou), and many small islets and rocks.


Status: Jurisdiction

Capital and largest city: St Peter Port

Official languages: English, Frenchb
Recognised regional languages: Guernésiais, Sercquiais, Auregnais

Religion: Church of England


  • Total 65 km2 (25 sq mi)
  • Water (%)


  • 2016 estimate 63,026
  • Density 965/km2 (2,499.3/sq mi)

Currency: Guernsey Pound, Pound sterlingd (The States of Guernsey issue their own sterling coins and banknotes)

Time zone

UTC⁠ (Greenwich Mean Time)

Summer (DST) UTC+1 (British Summer Time)

Driving side: left

Calling code: +44e

ISO 3166 code: GG

Internet TLD .gg