Information was not check the site moderator!

Overview of Senegal


Officially name: Republic of Senegal

Capital: Dakar

Largest city: Dakar

Official language: French

Government: Semi-presidential republic


Senegal is a country south of the Sénégal River in western Africa. It owes its name to the river that borders it to the East and North and that originates from the Fouta Djallon in Guinea. Senegal is externally bounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Mauritania to the north, Mali to the east, and Guinea and Guinea-Bissau to the south; internally it almost completely surrounds The Gambia, namely on the north, east and south, exempting Gambia's short Atlantic Ocean coastline.


Total 196,723 km2 (87th)
Water (%) 2.1


2009 estimate 13,711,597 (67th)
Density 69.7/km2 (134th)
180.4/sq mi

Currency: CFA franc (XOF)

Time zone


Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .sn

Calling code: 221