Overview of Republic of South Africa


The Republic of South Africa is a state in southern Africa. To the north lie Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe; to the east are Mozambique and Swaziland; while Lesotho is an enclave surrounded by South African territory.


Officially name: Republic of South Africa

Capital: Pretoria (executive), Bloemfontein (judicial), Cape Town (legislative)

Largest city: Johannesburg

Official languages: Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Northern Sotho, Sotho, Swazi, Tswana, Tsonga, Venda, Xhosa and Zulu.

Government: Constitutional parliamentary republic


  • Total 1,221,037 km2 (25th)
  • Water (%) Negligible


  • 2018 estimate 57,725,600 (24th)
  • 2011 census 51,770,560
  • Density 42.4/km2 (109.8/sq mi) (169th)

Currency: Rand (ZAR)

Time zone: SAST (UTC+2)

Drives on the left

Internet TLD: .za

Calling code: +27