Overview of Eritrea

Overview of Eritrea
Eritrea is a country in the Horn of Africa. The capital is Asmara. It is bordered by Sudan in the west, Ethiopia in the south, and Djibouti in the southeast. The northeast and east of the country have an extensive coastline on the Red Sea, directly across from Saudi Arabia and Yemen. The Dahlak Archipelago and several of the Hanish Islands are part of Eritrea.


Officially name: State of Eritrea

Capital: Asmara

Largest city: Asmara

Official language: None. De facto predominant languages: Tigrinya,Italian, Arabic

Government: Provisional Government


  • Total 117,600 km2 (100th)
  • Water (%) 0.14


  • 2016 estimate 4,954,645 (116th)
  • Density 51.8/km2 (134.2/sq mi) (154th)

Currency: Nakfa (ERN)

Time zone
Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+3)

Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .er

Calling code: 291