Overview of Central African Republic

Overview of Central African Republic
The Central African Republic (CAR) is a landlocked country in Central Africa. It borders Chad in the north, Sudan in the east, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Republic of the Congo in the south, and Cameroon in the west.


Officially name: Central African Republic

Capital: Bangui

Largest city: Bangui

Official language: French, Sango

Government: Republic

Total 622,984 km2 (43rd)
Water (%) 0


  • 2016 estimate 4,594,621 (119th)
  • 2003 census 4,987,640
  • Density 7.1/km2 (18.4/sq mi) (221st)

Currency: Central African CFA franc (XAF)

Time zone
Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+1)

Drives on the right

Internet TLD: .cf

Calling code: 236